Skip to content
July 10, 2010 / Briana Patrick

Ch. 9: Public Opinion and Persuasion

Chapter 9: Public Opinion and Persuasion

Public opinion is the sum of individual opinions on an issue affecting those individuals.

Two types of opinion leaders:

1. Formal opinion leaders: positions as elected officials, presidents of companies, or heads of membership groups.

2. Power leaders: persons in formal leadership positions.

Public opinion is the collective expression of opinion of many individuals bound into a group by common aims, aspirations, needs, and ideals.

Persuasion is used to change or neutralize hostile opinions, crystallize latent opinions and positive attitudes, and conserve favorable opinions.

MOST DIFFICULT persuasive task is to turn hostile opinions into favorable ones.

Book usedPublic Relations Strategies and Tactics

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. caseysherwinprca / Jul 12 2010 11:58 pm

    Dear Bri,
    Hey how are ya. Haven’t seen you in a while and I missed you the other night in Buckhead. However, I really enjoyed looking through your blog for suggestions. I like reading the different approaches you took to the assignments vs. other students and myself. You have a pretty cool setup going on with your blog. Im a dude so its not my style but I do think it is one of the most creative blogs I have seen and I’ve see a lot. I just recently walked with a PR degree and the only course that I had left was Intro to PR. Funny how that works but I know how you feel going into a new chapter of life. I’m not in Statesboro anymore but I know how the PR program goes so if you ever have any questions let me know.
    Sincerely,
    Casey Sherwin

    • Briana Patrick / Jul 13 2010 4:12 pm

      CASEY, you are amazing. I’m so sorry I didn’t see you in Buckhead this past weeknd, but I will definetly make it up to you! As of help with my PR major….you will be getting many phone calls. We miss you in the BORO.

Leave a Reply

