Skip to content
October 26, 2010 / Briana Patrick

T.O.W8: LEAD LAB

For the Topic of the week 8, I was to go onto the NewsU: The Lead Lab and learn about leads and their many facts.

What I learned

  • How to write a lead: W.W.W.W.W.H.W: Who, What , Where, When, How, and Why will help guide you to write your lead to the point that it basically writes itself.
  • Two question have to be answered for the story.
  1. What’s the story about?
  2. What’s the news?

What surprised me?

  • Myths broken
  1. leads sum up the story in a paragraph
  2. leads always contain attribution
  3. leads never begin with a quote
  4. leads are never more than 3 or 4 lines long

I guess I could have realized this myself just because some of the words used in the context such as NEVER and ALWAYS.

What I want to know more about.

  • I’d like to know more about sentence structure and maybe some more in debt examples of the different types of leads mentioned in the lab.

This was a great lab and I would definitely recommend this to striving journalist and PR/ Communication majors.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Victoria / Nov 2 2010 9:21 pm

    Thanks for the tips on how to write lead. I also appreciate you sharing what you learned on the lab. I also took this lab and learned a lot, but you pointing these things out brought some things to my attention. Sometimes I feel like I am spoiling the story if I sum it up in the lead, but the lab taught me that is the purpose. You have to answer those 4 W’s and 1 H. I agree that the lab needed to have more on sentence structure and more specific examples.

Leave a Reply

